How to choose the technology?

In the last years, IoT (Internet of Things) networks have taken a strong position in the international market. The software and equipment which is used in the deployment and service of wireless networks has already accumulated a wide assortment and allows you to solve any task.

When a project is starting, it is not obvious which communication standard should be chosen, especially since now there are a huge number of them. Let us consider three popular technologies that now are dividing the market in the field of the Internet of Things.

LoRaWAN, NB-IoT or GSM?

Often the selection criterion is the set of necessary functions of the equipment. That is, a specific set of interfaces is primary, and then you must work with the technology that the device supports. But what if the required hardware is available in all variants or supports more than one technology?

In this case, it is worth taking a closer look at the communication standards, each of which has its own advantages and disadvantages.

The first question to be solved:

Is there a necessary for private network or can you use the services of a global operator? In many cities it is already possible to find a LoRaWAN network operator, and NB-IoT networks are supported by many cellular operators. It all depends on which networks the data collection area is already covered with. If there is no LoRaWAN operator, then you can deploy the private network, which cannot be said about GSM - it either exists or not. Sometimes a cellular operator can connect to NB-IoT an area already covered by a GSM network, but under certain conditions.

Need private network?

It is much easier and cheaper to deploy LoRaWAN from scratch than NB-IoT or GSM. So, if it is necessary to fully control the process of collecting and transmitting information, the choice is LoRaWAN definitely.

Let us assume you do not need the private network

And there are all operators with great deals, ready to provide support and service. What else should you pay attention to?

Amount of transferred data

Despite the fact that in the field of IoT the transfer of large amounts of data is not usually required there are some exceptions. One of the strong examples is the collection of data from electricity meters. LoRaWAN and NB-IoT technologies have limitations on the number of parameters collected from electricity meters and you must choose the most necessary ones. To download the entire array of information provided by the manufacturer of electricity meters, including archives of readings for several months, GSM is simply irreplaceable.

Perhaps, for your project, the amount of transferred data will become the main criterion for choosing a technology.

What is next?

And then there are technical subtleties, the differences in which are difficult to detect with the naked eye.

Small differences in bandwidth, data transfer rate, method of communication - in general, lead us to the conclusion that LoRaWAN technology has a slightly lower power consumption and a slightly cheaper maintenance, while NB-IoT and GSM technologies are slightly more reliable and better suited for systems requiring an emergency response.

If telematic data collection is required from a large or open area, then the LoRaWAN network offers an ideal price-performance ratio.

In the case when it is necessary to quickly send a command for control in response to the received data, or receiving data is critical, then preference should be given to NB-IoT and GSM modems.

Выбор технологии для проекта

IoT сети за последние годы заняли устойчивое положение на международном рынке. Оборудование и программное обеспечение, используемое при построении и обслуживании беспроводных сетей, уже накопило достаточно широкий ассортимент, и позволяет решать любые задачи.

При старте проекта не всегда очевидно, какой стандарт связи следует выбрать, тем более что сейчас их существует огромное количество. Остановимся на трёх популярных технологиях, которые сейчас делят рынок в сфере Интернета вещей.

LoRaWAN, NB-IoT или GSM?

Часто критерием выбора является набор необходимых функций у оборудования. То есть первичным является конкретный набор интерфейсов и далее уже приходится работать с той технологией, которую поддерживает устройство. Но что, если нужное оборудование есть во всех вариантах или поддерживает больше одной технологии?

В таком случае стоит пристальнее взглянуть на стандарты связи, у каждого из которых есть свои достоинства и недостатки.

Первый вопрос, который следует решить:

Есть ли необходимость своей сети или можно прибегнуть к услугам оператора? Во многих городах уже есть возможность найти оператора LoRaWAN сети, а сети NB-IoT поддерживаются многими сотовыми операторами. Всё зависит от того, какими сетями уже покрыта область сбора данных. Если оператора LoRaWAN нет, то можно развернуть собственную сеть, чего никак не скажешь о GSM – он либо есть, либо нет. Иногда сотовый оператор может подключить к NB-IoT область, уже покрытую сетью GSM, но на определенных условиях.

Нужна своя сеть?

Развернуть LoRaWAN с нуля гораздо проще и дешевле, чем NB-IoT или GSM. Так что при необходимости полностью контролировать процесс сбора и передачи информации, выбор однозначно предопределён.

Допустим, своя сеть не нужна

И есть все операторы, с выгодными предложениями, готовые обеспечить поддержку и сервис. На что ещё стоит обратить внимание?

Объемы передаваемых данных

Несмотря на то, что как правило в сфере IoT передача больших массивов данных не требуется, и здесь бывают исключения. Один из ярких примеров – сбор данных с электросчетчиков. Технологии LoRaWAN и NB-IoT имеют ограничения по количеству собираемых параметров с электросчетчиков и приходится выбирать самые необходимые. Для того, чтобы выгрузить весь массив информации, предусмотренной производителем электросчетчиков, включая архивы показаний за несколько месяцев, GSM просто незаменим.

Возможно, и для вашего проекта объем передаваемых данных станет главным критерием выбора технологии.

Что дальше?

А дальше уже идут технические тонкости, различия в которых трудно обнаружить невооруженным глазом.

Небольшие отличия в пропускной способности, скорости передачи данных, методе выхода на связь, - в целом приводят нас к выводу, что технология LoRaWAN чуть менее энергозатратна и немного дешевле в обслуживании, а технологии NB-IoT и GSM чуть более надежны и лучше подходят для систем, требующих экстренного реагирования.

Если требуется сбор телематических данных с большой территории или в чистом поле, то сеть LoRaWAN предлагает идеальное соотношение цены и качества.

В случае же, когда необходимо в ответ на полученные данные быстро отправить команду на управление, или получение данных критически важно, то предпочтение следует отдать модемам NB-IoT и GSM.